Random Acts of Kindness

November 8, 2010

I’m sending out a big THANK YOU to the woman in line in front of me at Starbucks yesterday who paid for my $5.24 coffee (I know, I know – $5.24 is a crazy amount to spend on coffee).  I’m looking for a way to Pay It Forward today.  I will let you know what I choose to do when the right opportunity arises.

…and that got me thinkin’ about the old book Random Acts of Kindness.   Even the smallest Act of Kindness can make someone’s day.  Whether you simply let someone merge in the lane in front of you on the highway (and why not do it with a smile and a wave while you’re at it….) or something bigger like writing a note to a former teacher who has been pivotal in your life or anonymously  send a gift to someone who needs a pick-me-up, an Act of Kindness is easy and can make someone’s day (even if it’s YOURS).

I heard about an Act of Kindness at a fallen soldier’s funeral this week.  When residents heard that a church (that’s right, a CHURCH) was going to PROTEST at this soldier’s funeral, they organized and found a way to keep the protesters away.  Check it out here.

Challenge:  Perform a Random Act of Kindness this week.  If you want, post it here in the comments or keep it a complete secret – your call.

***UPDATE – I DID find a way to pay it forward after the Starbucks incident. ***

3 Responses to “Random Acts of Kindness”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I loved your blog today – you are always thoughtful and inspiring with so many wonderful tips and tidbits! Thanks!!!


  2. […] know, I know – didn’t we just have Random Acts of Kindness DAY?  Yes, yes we […]


Leave a Reply

