Award Winning Corn Farmer

November 11, 2010

A corn farmer won blue ribbons for his corn year after year – yet each year, he shared his best seed corn with all of his neighbors.

“How do you expect to continue to win blue ribbons if you give your best seed corn to others”, someone asked.

The farmer said “You don’t understand. The wind carries the pollen from field to field.  If I want to have the best corn, I need to be sure my neighbors have the best corn.  If they produce poor corn, it will pollinate mine and pull my quality down”.

So it is with all of life.

We are all gardening the same plot of ground.

The quality of our life has a direct bearing on the quality of our neighbor’s life.

Theologian John Drescher (as told by Dan Miller in 48 Days to the Work You Love)

 

The story above expresses WHY I give if my time, talents, and money.

You have the opportunity to support a great organization, too.

One week from tonight is the Indianapolis Institute for Families Art Auction.

I’d love to see you there.

You can get tickets here.

When:  Thursday, November 18, 2010

6-9pm

Where: The Columbia Club

121 Monument Circle

Indianapolis, IN

What: An evening filled with great wine, great food, and silent auction

How Much: $20 per ticket in advance $25 at the door (includes wine, hors d’oeuvres and entertainment by Indianapolis children’s choir)

When I asked some of my Facebook friends WHY they gave back to their communities, here are some of the responses I received:

“because God has blessed me with so much and that’s what He asks in retun…”

“Because it always makes me happy when I do”

“Because I believe I have the responsibility to be a sign of God’s presence in the world, especially to those in need. And because there have been times when I was low and someone took the time to lend me a hand. And because even small acts of kindness can make a big difference in the life of someone else. We may not all be smart, we may not all be pretty, but we can all be kind.”

“Because everyone deseves to have everything they need to live a quality, happy life. Because it’s the right thing to do. Because I’m part of a larger community that includes people who need help and I have the time/talent/treasure to provide that help. Because kindness is contagious. Because I want my kids to see that not everyone is like them but at the same time we are all the same.”

“because it is why we are here. To touch other peoples lives.”

“i do what i can because it makes me feel good….. money, talent, skills whatever, all of those are good, but a hello and how are you doing is just as great! or a ‘you can do it. believe me i know…'”

“i do it because I can and I believe in karma.”

Leave a Reply

