Sweet Potato Yeast Bread

November 19, 2010

 

I’ve been on a quest to master bread baking ever since that fateful summer when I had to make yeast rolls for 4-H.  I believe it was Foods 5.

I baked BRICKS all summer.

Bread baking is a science.

I like science.

Thus, I’m still on my quest.

A few years ago, I discovered potato dough.  This is a dough that you can make and store in the refrigerator for a week or so. (you can make all kinds of goodies with this dough – dinner rolls, cinnamon rolls, orange glazed rolls, shrimp gumbo, shrimp scampi, bbq shrimp …oops sorry slipped into Bubba there for a minute)

You take out what you need for 1 meal, bake it up, and leave the rest in the ‘fridge.

Apparently, the potatoes keep the dough moist.

This year, I have an abundance of SWEET potatoes.  So I tried a sweet potato dough recipe.

I normally like to eat sprouted grain bread.  So I thought I’d try to ‘soak’ my flour for this recipe.

Because I added the soaking process, it makes this recipe a 2-dayer…. but don’t be SCURD…. you throw part of it together at night – and then fugetaboutit until you are ready to finish it the next day.

Here’s what I did.

In a giant bowl, mix together:

2 cups warm water
1 cup mashed sweet potatoes
1/2 cup  butter melted
1/2 cup honey
2 teaspoons salt

If you don’t mind SEEING your sweet potato clumps, you can just mix this together with a fork.  I used my immersion blender to get all of the lumps out.  You could use a blender, too.

Add in

3 cups whole wheat flour
3-1/4 to 3-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Mix together until it makes a thick ‘paste’ – or a loose dough – however you want to look at it.

Cover the bowl and leave it over night……that’s right – overnight ….just out on your counter is fine.

The next morning (or whenever you get to it), mix together in its own bowl

4 1/2 t active dry yeast (I believe this is 2 packets)
1/4 cup warm water (110 – 115 degrees)
a pinch of sugar

Let this mixture sit for 10 minutes.  If it gets foamy, that’s good.  If it DOESN”T get foamy, your yeast is bad – and try this step again.

Once your yeast mixture is foamy, add it to the dough you made last night.

Add an egg.

Mix it all together.  It should be very doughy now.  Knead it for a 10 minutes.  You can add more flour if it’s too sticky.

Cover the bowl and let it rise until doubled (about 1-2 hours depending on how warm your house is… I put mine on top of my fridge to keep it out of my way and up where it’s warmer).

Once it’s doubled, put 1/2 of the dough in a greased loaf pan.  Just take a giant chunk, fold the edges under and set it in the pan.  Do the same with the other 1/2.

Let it rise again (in the loaf pans).  I do this rising in my microwave (which is right over my stove – so it’s nice and warm).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Once loaves are tall and beautiful, put them in the hot oven and bake 45-55 minutes.

 

One Response to “Sweet Potato Yeast Bread”


  1. […] I’ve toyed with it now and again. […]


Leave a Reply

