Gratitude Journal Revisited

November 24, 2010

I used to be REALLY good about keeping a Gratitude Journal.

I wrote DAILY for over a year….. 12 years ago.

I think I started one after reading Sarah Ban Breathnach’s FANTASTIC book Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy.

I’m going to read it again in 2011.  I read it in ’98, ’01, and ’06…. looks like I’m due again.

Here are some things I was grateful for in 1998:

true friends
weekend getaways
Cracker Barrel
genuine concern
teamwork
fresh pineapple
passionate debate
aluminum foil
eyelashes
black
fresh air
a deep breath
heat
an old couple holding hands
the winery
sitcoms
a feeling of accomplishment
the fact that a walk to The Point lightens my heart
my marriage
tar remover
when Craig and Annie meet me at work to walk me home
full moons
The Wizard of Oz
progress
pot roast
when the only clear part of the sky is the horizon during sun rise and set
happy people
Hollywood Squares
budgeting

In 2006, I was grateful for:

church
breakfast casseroles
children’s hospitals
Parents’ Day Out programs
waterproof band aids
finding all of the puzzle pieces
The Oscars
chubby baby legs
wine

…apparently, I didn’t have much time in 2006 b/c I only wrote about 7 times in my journal!  My how things change.  In 1998 – basic, easy, SIMPLE…. 2006 – a little more serious!  Amazing what kids do to ya….

So I’ll make it a goal to write regularly in my Gratitude Journal in ’11.  Wanna come along for the ride?

 

8 Responses to “Gratitude Journal Revisited”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I love this! I started a 365 days of happiness and gratitude to further feed my “laws of attraction”. 🙂 I’m using facebook as my vehicle, because that’s about all I have time for! Good luck and I look forward to reading more. 🙂

  2. Michelle Diamond Says:

    Yes please…I want to come along!

  3. Jayme Says:

    Yes….I used to do this as well and it’s way past time to make it a regular practice! Would love to have a group to share it with! Great idea.


  4. […] hearing from some of you regarding my Gratitude Journal post the other day, I’ve decided […]

  5. Tracy Says:

    I’m in!


  6. […] Jewish/Christian School, we do a lesson on gratitude and the importance of being grateful for the smallest things.  When you appreciate even the […]


  7. […] you read my post about Gratitude and thought “I’d love to read that book Heather is talking about”….. […]


  8. […] her search was a book called “A Life of One’s Own”.  It’s like the first Gratitude Journal.   It is Ms Field’s diary during her quest to find things that REALLY made her […]


Leave a Reply

