Birthday Rewind

December 14, 2010

Yesterday was my birthday…..  I am one lucky gal….

8:00 a.m.  Surprised with Dunkin’ Donuts in bed (yummy jelly filled donut and an awesome cup o’ joe)

8:05 a.m.  Surprised with a rousing game of Pull My Finger…. Oh, no, it wasn’t my husband… No,,,no, not the 7 year old boy….. Yes, indeed, it was my 5 year old daughter.  Happy Birthday, Mom!

Honestly, though, there is no other way I would rather start my day than LAUGHING hysterically.  I wish I could wake up everyday laughing until it hurts.

8:30 a.m.  The kids had to show me what Cinnamon brought for them last night (Cinnamon is our Elf on the Shelf… he doesn’t bring gifts nightly, but last night he brought Lib a pink and silver ornament wreath and he set up a small Christmas tree in Jonah’s room)

9-10 a.m.  Leisurely finished my coffee, check e-mail, chill-ax

10 a.m.  9 year old neighbor girl comes over and entertains my children until 5 p.m.  Wahooo!

10 a.m. – 3 p.m.  Relaxed, watched DVRd shows, thought about holiday ‘stuff’, etc.

3 p.m.  Got a $20 facelift.

Ok, it was a brow arch….and I only do it a couple of times per year…. but there was Witch Hazel, waxing, powdering, plucking, trimming, and a slight electric current involved.  Everytime I go I dream about the day when I will be able to do it more often!

5 p.m. Left home for my ‘surprise dinner’… at FOGO DE CHAO (or as I now call it Meat-a-palooza)   Holy Flesh, Batman.  Ginormous salad bar and 15 different cuts of meat and running Brazilian guys with sword-like skewers FULL o’ meat.  I say “any restaurant whose ‘bread’ is a popover is OK with me”!  http://www.fogodechao.com/

7:45 p.m. Nightcap at the local WineStyles with Don.  http://www.winestyles.net/carmel

8:30 p.m.  Home to relieve the FREE babysitter – Thanks, JMac!

Great birthday – great friends, great kids, great husband.

Special thanks to W.V. for the Vino and yummy garlic spread and to CSPIN for the gift certificate for On-Ramp Classes (I’m going to start working out NOW so I don’t kill myself in January).

Finally, in the area of ‘that’s how the universe works’…..  I was thinking about our family “New Year’s Cards”  yesterday (we send out New Year’s Cards instead of Holiday/Hanukkah/Christmas cards… for a variety of reasons… mostly b/c I think it’s too stressful to get them out b/f the 25th).

I wanted to find the font that is used in Martha Stewart Living Magazine – because I”ve always liked it… simple, elegant, easy on the eyes.  SO I Googled it and found that it was available for purchase (which I”m not going to do b/c I love it but I don’t love it $49 worth).

What was ironic, serendipitous, or (as I like to say) just how the universe works….. the font is called ‘Archer’…. after the constellation….  THAT IS MY ZODIAC SIGN (Sagittarius).

Here’s what the web-site says about the font:

“Sweet but not saccharine, earnest but not grave, Archer is designed to hit just the right notes of forthrightness, credibility, and charm.”

2 Responses to “Birthday Rewind”

  1. Jmac Says:

    Glad your day was wonderful! 🙂


  2. […] what is even more ironic, serendipitous, or just how the universe works…. is that THIS is what my craft room looks like right […]


Leave a Reply

