Lotion Bars

December 19, 2010

I made homemade lotion bars for my …ummm, nephew-in-law (is there such a thing???  He’s my niece’s husband).

Super easy:

2 oz beeswax (I used a natural beeswax from Michaels)
2 oz shea butter (unscented)
2 oz coconut oil
Essential Oils (for scent)

Melt beeswax in a crockpot (that you use for crafting) or in a homemade double boiler (use a canning  jar in a pot of boiling water) or a glass pyrex measuring cup.  I did mine in a glass measuring cup in the microwave.  After beeswax is melted, add shea butter stir and heat until melted.  Finally, add coconut oil.  Stir until coconut oil is melted.    Add essential oils to your liking.

Pour melted mixture into a mold (I used an old silicone cupcake pan that I don’t use for baking – but you can use recycled cans, soap molds, or even a bread pan… just slice into bars).  Once bars are set, pop out of your ‘mold’.  You can warm it up a little if it seems ‘stuck’.

Rub between your hands until it’s warmed up a little – you will feel the ‘lotion’ on your hands.  Focus on extra dry areas (around finger nails or wherever).

 

6 Responses to “Lotion Bars”

  1. Barbara Says:

    What a great idea. You can also use Almond oil in place of the coconut and you enjoy the pure scent of the essential oil you use. I know what tomorrow night holds for me. Off to Michaels I go.


  2. Great idea! I will definitely have to try making these soon. Thanks for posting.


  3. […] I use coconut oil in a lot of things – I pop popcorn in it, I bake with it, I use it on dry skin. […]


Leave a Reply

