Simple Abundance – Joanna Field is an ALIAS!

January 12, 2011

The growth of understanding follows an ascending spiral rather than a straight line ~  Joanna Field

If you’re reading Simple Abundance with me, perhaps January 7th’s entry spoke to you (as it did me).

“What is missing from many of our days is a true sense that we are enjoying the lives we are living.  It is difficult to experience moments of happiness if we are not aware of what it is we genuinely love.”   Sarah Ban Breathnach

Sarah shares the story of Joanna Field, an Englishwoman who, in 1926, started a journey to live a truly authentic live.  The result of her search was a book called “A Life of One’s Own”.  It’s like the first Gratitude Journal.   It is Ms Field’s diary during her quest to find things that REALLY made her happy.

What I have learned about Joanna Field is that “Joanna Field” is a pen name.   The author’s REAL name is Marion Milner. She seems to have lived a fascinating life and wrote several books.  She passed away in 1998 at the age of 98…… perhaps she can give us some important life lessons,,, you think?

A Life of One’s Own is being republished in May of this year.

Hold tight, Simple Abundance readers, we’re ramping up to start our Gratitude Journal’s this week.

4 Responses to “Simple Abundance – Joanna Field is an ALIAS!”

  1. Mary Says:

    I love this, Heather. I love how introspective and intentional you are about being grateful. I’ve always been happy and I think it’s due to a lifelong practice of being grateful. I am consciously thankful countless times each day and I think that lends itself to genuine happiness. I know it does. And if it’s true that our world view is set for good by age 8 by our primary caregiver, then I have my mother to thank for that.

  2. Jayme Says:

    I have been reading Simple Abundance every day, and I actually have taken some excerpts and written them in my Gratitude Journal. I was moved by the last paragraph on 1/8….”Ultimately, genuine happiness can only be realized once we commit to making it a personal priority”. And then…”Today you may not be familiar with the happiness habit. But like any new behavior, happiness can be learned.”

    Since reading that I am paying more attention to the little things each day that bring me pleasure or happiness. I’m learning that days are really made up of a lot of little moments…and that even if there are only a few really great ones, they should be celebrated. And we should say thank you for them.


Leave a Reply

