Simple Abundance – are you the real deal?

February 6, 2011

Authenticity

It’s a word that gets thrown around a lot… and if you’re reading Simple Abundance with me, you’ve been reading about it over the past few days.

It has caused some of you to e-mail me to discuss what it REALLY means…. or just what it means to you.

Merriam-Webster says authenticity means:  true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character.

(do you feel like you’ve stumbled onto a 7th grade research paper… which are required to start out with “Merriam-Webster says…”)

One of my blog readers heard at a seminar that “Being authentic is being who you are AND sharing it with the rest of the world.”

Another reader sent me this:

“Today’s quote really hit home for me. Robert Browning’s quote “My business is not to remake myself But make the absolute best of what God made.” I really think I’ve been trying to remake myself for YEARS…into something I’m not created to be. But I’m realizing the real reason is because I’ve NEVER taken the time to find out who I really am. I’ve been playing a lot of roles for a lot of people. Braking that mold is hard, but the more time I get to spend with “the real me” the more I am liking her and the more I enjoy becoming a better me.”

I have said for years that we spend the first 18-22 years of our lives trying BE like everyone else, LOOK like everyone else, and blend in….and the last portion of our lives trying to set ourselves apart, show that we are unique, special, and different.

What does being authentic mean to you?  Are you taking steps to be sure you are staying authentic?

3 Responses to “Simple Abundance – are you the real deal?”

  1. Alicia Says:

    Just a quick and ironic comment…
    I realized yesterday that the company I am using to book my trip to Ireland is called Authentic Ireland. My true self loves to travel and it’s fitting that the company helping me live that dream is called Authentic Ireland!


  2. […] excavate even further to guide us to our true selves – our ‘authentic’ selves. ( I’ve discussed the nebulousness of this idea before. Sarah narrowed it down beautifully for me – saying –  remember yourself when you were […]


Leave a Reply

