Recipe Re-do

February 8, 2011

I’m married to Cro Magnon man

…or a caveman

 

….or paleo man

…or a non-grain-eating man

 

So my famous Cheeseburger Rice recipe got a re-do today.

When this recipe first found me, it looked like this:

1 lb. lean ground beef
1 onion chopped
1-3/4 cups  water
2/3 cup ketchup
1 Tbsp.  yellow mustard
2 cups instant white rice, uncooked
1 cup  KRAFT Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Make It

BROWN meat in large skillet on medium-high heat; drain.  Saute onion and mix with meat.

ADD water, ketchup and mustard; mix well. Bring to boil.

STIR in rice. Sprinkle with cheese; cover. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer 5 min. Remove from heat. Let stand 5 min. Stir.

(from Kraftrecipes.com)

Tonight, I used cauliflower rice instead of instant rice.  (leave the water out if you use cauliflower rice)

What is cauliflower rice?  There are a couple of ways to make it.  I steamed a whole head of cauliflower and then pulsed it in the food processor.  Seasoned with salt, pepper, and a little raw butter.

Here is how my friend Lindsey @ Enjoying Healthy Foods did it.

***If I’m being honest, I must admit…. I kicked it up a notch to BACON Cheeseburger Rice by adding some crumbled bacon***

The finished product in the caveman’s lunch for tomorrow:

BAM

3 Responses to “Recipe Re-do”


  1. ……and I must say…..I liked it better than the original. BAM! BAM!!

  2. Carrie Says:

    You are an inspirational wife! One: you make his lunch. Two: to his specified diet. I’ll send him a letter letting him know how lucky he is. 😀


Leave a Reply

