Simple Abundance – Who’s with me?

February 21, 2011

I’m not sure where February went…

Simple Abundance lessons in February have challenged us to dig deeper…

Go on creative excursions or Art Dates.

Think about the power of your words.

Take the time and effort to look someone in the eye when you speak to them.

One of my favorite passages was about prayer.

On February 4th Sarah says that when you give thanks or ask for help, you are ‘switching on the spiritual electricity” to help illuminate your way.

However, only asking for illumination when you NEED something is like ‘living in a house with electricity but turning on the lights only for a couple of  hours every few months.”  It is important to take the time to say “thank you”.

If you have a gratitude journal, you have a tangible list of things to say thank you for.

I take the time to ask for illumination at night before I go to bed.  It doesn’t have to be big and elaborate – or fancy – or formal.

If you grew up attending church, you might think that God requires you to speak a certain way.

I was blessed to meet someone when I was a senior in high school who taught me that God doesn’t require formality.  When Mary started her speech at our Baccalaureate service, she said “God, I’m nervous…. please fix it”.

What?  No Our Father… no Dear Lord above… no Heavenly Father?  She spoke to God like she was speaking to her best friend.

I loved that…. and I have adopted this candor in my own relationship with the big guy…

I highly recommend it.

One Response to “Simple Abundance – Who’s with me?”


  1. Thanks for reminding us to keep it simple, and to be grateful for EVERYTHING. Even the seemlingly negative things – you never know where they’ll lead you.


Leave a Reply

