Excavating

March 1, 2011

I have an Aunt Janet.

You probably do, too.

Aunt Janet isn’t my mom’s sister – or my dad’s for that matter.

You see, where I grew up, we weren’t allowed to call our parents’ friends by their first names… or even a variation there of.  No Miss Sue, no Miss Judy, no Miss Phyllis.  If you were a parent of one of my friends, I called you Mister, Doctor, or Misses.  (chances are, I still do)

There was a rare occasion, though, where a relationship seemed too intimate to call an adult by Mr./Dr./Mrs.   In these cases,  my parents told me to call these people “Aunt” or “Uncle”.

This is the case with Aunt Janet.

She moved to California a hundred years ago – but I still send her holiday cards with a picture of my juhdorable family (whether she wants one or not… this year, she got 2 b/c I had forgotten that I had already sent one .. and sent another).

Over the past week or so, Simple Abundance has encouraged us to excavate even further to guide us to our true selves – our ‘authentic’ selves. ( I’ve discussed the nebulousness of this idea before. Sarah narrowed it down beautifully for me – saying –  remember yourself when you were 10?  THAT is your true authentic self.)

On Feb 20th, she included the following quote:

“Sometimes a person has to go back, really back – to have a sense, an understanding of all that’s gone to make them – before they can go forward. ” Paule Marshall

I have always known that I am an amalgam of all of the people I have known in my life.  From every person I have come in contact with, I have taken something that I Do want to be – or I have noted something that I Don’t want to be.  This was especially true of the women around whom I was raised.

Aunt Janet is one of those women.  She was always a TON of fun.  Her house is the first house  (of a non-family member) I remember spending the night at.  Her daughters babysat for me.

There was always a sewing project at her house – I remember a denim drawstring bag with a bright pink “H” on it that I treasured… and a stuffed walrus (that’s right a walrus… don’t judge) – that was as big as I was.

I have memories of my  parents having parties with them – there were card games and music playing  (piano, bass, trumpet).  I saw my first microwave oven at her house and thought it was so cool to eat scrambled eggs out of it.  …and I swear there was a ski lift in her backyard.

So as I’m reading about re-visiting my past this week in Simple Abundance, imagine my delight when I received this in the mail from Aunt Janet (who, mind you, normally just sends me a note after I’ve sent her a holiday card…and she DID do that this year, so this gift was a complete surprise.)

It’s a needle case.

Now, you might be saying – what in the WORLD will you do with a needle case.  Who repairs clothes anymore?  Aren’t clothes disposable?

It’s not just a needle case, it has a history.

She made one for my mom when we were young (I’m sure I’ll find it and feature it on another edition of “crap from my parents’ basement’ soon).

But what is even more ironic, serendipitous, or just how the universe works…. is that THIS is what my craft room looks like right now.

That’s right, THIS WEEK, I had dusted off the old sewing machine to make an apron for myself (in all of my 8th grade home ec sewing prowess).

Is someone trying to tell me something???  Or is this just help from above in my excavation process?

4 Responses to “Excavating”

  1. Michelle Diamond Says:

    I love this Heather. I love the excavating journal entries. I have a desire to spend more time talking and thinking about it. Everytime I sit down to excavate a little more a big munchkin or little munchkin invades my lap. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and keep it coming!


    • So glad you’re enjoying the posts. It’s fascinating how (when I am paying attention) the universe provides exactly WHAT I need right WHEN I need it. It’s just important to TAKE NOTE of it when it happens. You don’t need your lap top and undivided attention to notice these things. I challenge you to think about these things all day everyday. You’ll be amazed what ‘clicks’ for you!

  2. Susan Clark Says:

    I’m so glad to see you are sewing…I think it is so fun to create and share…keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

