Scared?

March 15, 2011

Admit it.

There are places that you JUST don’t go due to the unknown.

We live in the world’s biggest melting pot – and we rarely branch out, explore, and embrace the different cultures that live among us.

I’m guilty of it, too.

What if they don’t speak English?

WHAT is that smell?

How will I know what to buy/order/eat?

Going to an ethnic restaurant is one thing.  Going to an international market is another.

Thanks to my friend, Carrie, I am now an Asia Mart ‘regular’.

We went a couple of weeks ago to get ingredients for Tom Yum Soup (more on that later).

This week, we went because Carrie wanted to make a video for her blog about going to an international market.

As a party of 7, on a busy Saturday, I think we did well.

I bought 2 packages of baos (steamed buns) – thank you Wow Bao in Chicago for my obsession – 1 package of glutinous rice balls (sounds intriguing, right -According to Carrie,  they sound better than they taste), 2 packages of Hi Chew and 2 marble drinks (candies and sodas for the kids that so patiently tagged along – because nothing says bribery like high fructose corn syrup) and a Chinese newspaper (so I can brush up on my Chinese — OK it’s for crafting).

Thanks, Carrie, for a fun adventure!

2 Responses to “Scared?”

  1. Tim Says:

    The marble atop the soda pop was awesome! Where is Asia Mart located? I know, I know, “Google it.” I’m just lazy.


Leave a Reply

