Baby Bird

May 27, 2011

I discovered this nest when I was wrestling with our unruly ivy happily tidying up the landscaping in my front yard.

…and by discovered I mean I nearly had my head taken off by the mama grackle who was busy building the nest.

Grackles aren’t my FAVORITE birds…. but I felt too cruel tearing the nest out of my tree just because these nasty birds scare all of the pretty birds away from my bird feeder…  (I’m not bitter).  Plus, the next time I checked the nest, this is what I found:

If I didn’t know better, I would have thought they were Cadbury Mini Eggs (but I KNOW I ate all of those weeks ago).

Then, this happened:

Damnit!  They’re too cute to get rid of now….

Just look!

Then they grew up an started leaving the nest.  Here’s the last one to go:

How did I k6now when they were leaving the nest?  Because I heard THIS guy chirping so loudly outside my front door that I actually OPENED the door to see what the commotion was about…..

Here was this poor guy looking at me like “What the hell just happened?  I was JUST in my nest, cozy and warm with my homeys… now I”m on this branch…. and I THINK I flew here – but now I’m scared to try it again….”

Now here’s  a little grackle fact that I’m putting out there as a little public service announcement – grackles aren’t taught to fly by JUST their mommy and daddy grackles, Oh No – they call in the entire flock to help protect the little booger while he’s figuring things out.

Here’s what it looked like when I opened my front door to check on this little angel:

Damn grackles.

Leave a Reply

