Sourdough chocolate cake

June 13, 2011

I have always wanted to be a bread baker.

I tried yeast rolls in 4H… .I made bricks all summer.  They were terrible.

I’ve toyed with it now and again.

I’ve looked for ‘healthier’ recipes.

I’ve read a lot about sourdough.

It became my quest….  I even put it on my vision board.

I found a free source for sourdough starter.  I found a great company for other starters.

I discovered this amazing web-site with lots of recipes and info about sourdough.

I ordered the free starter and it sat in my kitchen for months.

While I was wandering around the GNOWFLINS site, I discovered that sourdough can be used for much more than bread… it can be used for chocolate cake!

…now we’re talkin’.

With an 8th birthday coming up, I vowed to ditch my tradition of boxed cake and Cool Whip icing for something “healthier” (as healthy as chocolate cake gets 😉

I discovered this recipe for Sourdough Chocolate Cake at The Nourishing Gourmet.

Here is my version…
1 cup of recently fed sourdough starter
1 cup almond milk
2 cups of cake flour
1 to 1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup of melted coconut oil
1/2 cup applesauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 cup of cocoa powder (not Dutch processed)
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder (optional)
2 large eggs

1) 3-18 hours before you are ready to finish the cake, make the sourdough mixture. Mix the sourdough starter, almond milk and the flour in a large bowl. Let sit at room temperature for desired length of time.

2) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 by 13 pan, 2 – 9″ round pans, or a cupcake pan.

3) In a separate bowl, beat together the sugar, oil, applesauce , vanilla, salt, baking soda, cocoa. and optional espresso powder. The mixture will be grainy. Beat in one egg at at time. Then gently combine this mixture with the sourdough mixture, beating until smooth. It will be gloppy at first, but will smooth out into a delightful batter.

4) Pour and scrape into the prepared pan and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until a cake tester or toothpick comes up clean when poked in the middle of the cake. Let cool before frosting.  (cupcakes took about 17 minutes to bake and 2- 9″ rounds took about 30 minutes)

One Response to “Sourdough chocolate cake”


  1. […] use coconut oil in a lot of things – I pop popcorn in it, I bake with it, I use it on dry […]


Leave a Reply

