Adorabaaahhhhhhhle

January 20, 2012

In my mind, I am a farmer.  I have a wonderful cozy farm house with a barn, some chickens, an alpaca, and a donkey.  My husband has a man cave and I have a craft room.  In reality, I live in a suburb and have a healthy herd of squirrels and chipmunks and a couple of cardinals (when I remember to fill the bird feeder!)… In the meantime, I live vicariously through the farmers I know.

Who can resist this face?

My friend Marti gets to see this adorable little face everyday.  She lives on a small farm and raises Katahdin sheep.  Her kids show these beautiful animals in 4H shows and she sells her lambs for breeding stock and occasionally meat.

I’m all about showing my kids where their food comes from…and it isn’t the grocery store.   I want them to understand that there are hard working people raising their meat, fruits, and vegetables.  I hope that they see the hard work and love that goes into producing healthy food.  So when I have a chance to take them to learn this lesson, I’m all about.

When Marti told me she was in the midst of lambing season,,,,even though it was the middle of January in Central Indiana, I was all over it.  Bring it on.

We arrived and were welcomed by Marti and her family in their cozy, warm home.  I was immediately transported to my grandparents farm house – I became 8 years old again.  The aroma of freshly cooked home grown boiled potatoes and lemon scented Joy dishwashing soap brought back memories of Dallas and Wilma’s cattle farm with some chickens running around the yard of the orange barn.  The freshly baked peanut butter kiss cookies that were cooling on the counter lent their own delicious scents.  (and yes, the kisses were still melty and gooey!)   I believe my children immediately had a cookie snack before we even saw our first sheep!

After the cookie snack, we headed out to check out the lambs.  Marti has the mama sheep with their lambs separated from the expectant mamas because they eat different diets.  This mama says “WHY are you here???”

Baby lambs are frolicking, running around, fighting with their twin or triplet siblings to nurse, and just generally showing off.

Next we check out the expectant ewes.  These gals are ready to POP.  Marti assumes that a some of these mamas are carrying twins or triplets.

After the kids enjoyed some silliness in the hayloft (which included jumping OUT of the hayloft), we took a trip up a giant hill to get the best view on the farm.

(Marti with her own little lambs in tow)

After a quick lunch, an air hockey game or 2 and a gymnastics exposition in the basement, we were off.

My kids crashed hard on the way home and upon awakening said “When can we go back there???”

Farming is a lot of hard work with a TON of benefits.  Teaching your kids responsibility, being good stewards of the earth, raising beautiful animals for enjoyment or for dinner… a wonderful, simple, yet busy way of life.

While Marti is trying to grow her herd, she doesn’t get much grass fed lamb for her freezer – but if she had some, she says that a good Irish STEW is her favorite way to prepare it.

Pardon me, I need to go feed my alpaca.

***By the time I finished typing this, Marti messaged me that she has triplets to add to the brood… Flora, Fauna and Merryweather***

Visit Marti’s Sheepy Hollow Farm Facebook Page to keep up to date with their new additions!

One Response to “Adorabaaahhhhhhhle”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Amazing! “pardon me, I need to feed my alpaca.”


Leave a Reply

